creating community through celebration

California Revels Staff & Board


David Parr - Artistic Director

David has been an active theatre professional in the San Francisco Bay Area for the past thirty years. Trained at the University of Illinois (M.A. in Theatre) he has a background in dance, photography and videography as well. During his years as a professional actor, he performed and directed on many Bay Area stages and served for ten years as an elected representative for Actors' Equity Association. He joined the staff of the California Revels as Resident Director in 1990 and was appointed Artistic Director in 2005. He is a tenured professor on the Theatre Arts faculty of San Francisco City College, where he founded the critically acclaimed City Summer Opera. David has directed the Revels in Oakland for twenty-four years, as well as the Revels in Tacoma and the Oakland production of Noye's Fludde, featuring Revels founder Jack Langstaff. He resides in Oakland with his wife, Krista and two sons, Luke and William.

Frederick Goff - Music Director

Fred Goff

Fred has degrees in music theory and liturgy from the University of the Pacific and Pacific School of Religion. He has performed on choir tours of the Soviet Union and Great Britain, in the Los Angeles Master Chorale and in madrigal quartets. His teaching duties have included public and private schools in Alameda, San Francisco, and Conta Costa counties, San Francisco State University, San Francisco City College, and Laney College. He is the resident music director for the California Revels and music director of St. James Episcopal Church.

Dave Watt - Director, Solstice Ensemble

A key member of our Christmas Revels chorus for many years, Dave has taken on the duties of rehearsing and conducting our very popular Solstice Ensemble. He lives in Oakland with his wife Rachel, and young daughter, Chloe.


Board of Directors

  • Bill Batty, President
  • Cathy Peloquin, Vice President
  • Laurel Skehen, Treasurer
  • Gabriel Hurley, Secretary
  • Mary Catherine Haug
  • Carolyn Thiessen
  • Marc Newell
  • Linda Swanson
  • Sandy Gess

Advisory Council

  • Bone Burke
  • Malcolm Carden
  • Suzanne Long
  • Carl Ludewig
  • David Metcalf
  • Kris Murray
  • Theresa Nelson
  • Dr. Joel Parrott
  • Ronya Robinson
  • Terry Trotter
  • Marcia Vastine
  • Dave Watt
  • Andrew Williams
  • Linda Williams
  • Helen Wills Brown
  • Ellin Barret